Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
Planet Fitness Complaint - LIES LIES LIES! From Spider Man no less!!!!
Planet Fitness Complaint

Planet Fitness Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

LIES LIES LIES! From Spider Man no less!!!!


On the 25th of Sep 2008 I accompanied my boyfriend to the Planet Fitness branch in Claremont in order for him to cancel his contract. He was asked to submit his request in writing which he then did, and handed to the person at the desk who assured him that it would be dealt with. Two months later – PF is still debiting his account.

On Saturday 8 Nov when we went to PF Claremont to inquire about why PF are still taking money out of his account the employee at the front desk handed us over to a male employee who upon questioning identified himself as the branch manager. His attitude left much to be desired from the very beginning, talking to us in a very impatient tone like we were wasting his time and interrogating us about whom the cancellation letter had been handed to and when it had been done.

Annoyed by his rude behaviour I asked for his name (Apparently they do not wear name badges at this branch) to which he replied Peter. I then asked for his last name, to which he replied “Parker”. When I laughed at him and told him that Peter Parker was Spiderman his tone became very aggressive and he insisted that his name was indeed Peter Parker. My boyfriend then wrote another letter to cancel his gym subscription, and “Peter Parker” signed it as proof of receipt on behalf of PF. My boyfriend included HIS contact details and NAME. AT NO TIME DID I GIVE THEM ANY OF MY OWN PERSONAL DETAILS!

This morning (10 Nov 08) I called the branch manager at Claremont branch (Grant) to find out if there was indeed a Peter Parker working there, he confirmed my suspicion that there was no one by that name employed at his branch. I then related the incident to him, giving him a description of the employee as well as the name of another employee that had been watching the incident. He then proceeded to try and SELL me a contract before promising to get back to me. I then gave him MY contact details. A minute later I received a call from PETER PARKER who assured me that the issue had been sent to Admin. When I questioned him as to why the manager didn’t know who he was, he spun me story about being from PF Head Office, and that he was simply “filling in” at this branch. Clearly his manager had given him my contact details and was helping him cover up his LIES!!!!!

I then called PF head office and was told that they have no one by that name working there. I was also told that no one from HO would be working in a branch on a Saturday as this is not standard operating procedure.

What is going to happen with membership fees that continue to be fraudulently taken out of my boyfriends account? What is going to happen to Spiderman when we eventually find out his real name? Is Planet Fitness going to deal with him or continue to let him treat clients the way currently is? Because clearly his manager at the branch has no intention of taking disciplinary action against him.


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Planet Fitness
SUBMIT a ticket
for Planet Fitness
WATCH videos
for Planet Fitness
More Planet Fitness Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Planet Fitness

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


Huggydog says: (8 years ago)
 0
PLANET FITNESS , QUESTIONED ON THEIR TRUSTWORTHYNESS AND INTEGRITY IN THEIR CONDUCT OF BUSINESS PRACTICED

We must all firstly, question ANY merchant or order of business, when they oblige an individual/consumer,
to give up ACCESS to their accounts to pay for the service, services offered, including an individuals ID, IDENTITY and PRIVACY. If an individual can not pay for a service offered by their own WILL with CASH, and without sacrificing privacy,security and their own identity, and the right NOT to enter the BINDING of CONTRACTS for services offered, should people NOT question the trustworthyness of that Merhcant/Establishments method of the business practiced?

It is the GOOD WIll of a GOOD AND NOTABLE business to EARN the trust of the people of its community, and cater to those people of what is BEST in those particular peoples interest. and then perhaps the business shall be worthy of the business of those people.

Always keep in mind , "without the customer,the business cannot stay in business".

People should ALWAYS question what must be given up of themselves to obtain a service offered to them. If it requires more than of your own money, is it WORTH it?



Huggydog says: (8 years ago)
 0
PLANET FITNESS , QUESTIONED ON THEIR TRUSTWORTHYNESS AND INTEGRITY IN THEIR CONDUCT OF BUSINESS PRACTICED

We must all firstly, question ANY merchant or order of business, when they oblige an individual/consumer,
to give up ACCESS to their accounts to pay for the service, services offered, including an individuals ID, IDENTITY and PRIVACY. If an individual can not pay for a service offered by their own WILL with CASH, and without sacrificing privacy,security and their own identity, and the right NOT to enter the BINDING of CONTRACTS for services offered, should people NOT question the trustworthyness of that Merhcant/Establishments method of the business practiced?

It is the GOOD WIll of a GOOD AND NOTABLE business to EARN the trust of the people of its community, and cater to those people of what is BEST in those particular peoples interest. and then perhaps the business shall be worthy of the business of those people.

Always keep in mind , "without the customer,the business cannot stay in business".

People should ALWAYS question what must be given up of themselves to obtain a service offered to them. If it requires more than of your own money, is it WORTH it?



Huggydog says: (8 years ago)
 0
PLANET FITNESS , QUESTIONED ON THEIR TRUSTWORTHYNESS AND INTEGRITY IN THEIR CONDUCT OF BUSINESS PRACTICED

We must all firstly, question ANY merchant or order of business, when they oblige an individual/consumer,
to give up ACCESS to their accounts to pay for the service, services offered, including an individuals ID, IDENTITY and PRIVACY. If an individual can not pay for a service offered by their own WILL with CASH, and without sacrificing privacy,security and their own identity, and the right NOT to enter the BINDING of CONTRACTS for services offered, should people NOT question the trustworthyness of that Merhcant/Establishments method of the business practiced?

It is the GOOD WIll of a GOOD AND NOTABLE business to EARN the trust of the people of its community, and cater to those people of what is BEST in those particular peoples interest. and then perhaps the business shall be worthy of the business of those people.

Always keep in mind , "without the customer,the business cannot stay in business".

People should ALWAYS question what must be given up of themselves to obtain a service offered to them. If it requires more than of your own money, is it WORTH it?



AVOID says: (9 years ago)
 0
AVOID THIS CLUB!!!!
Call 1-603-750-0001 to reach the corporate office. Clerks at desk will say anything to sign you up. Then after the fact they tell you the rules in the fine print you don't read at the desk. Surprise, for example, the $10 membership only applies to the Club you joined. The clerk at the desk tells you you can go anywhere. This Club is only interested in rapidly expanding and don't care much at all for the complaints they get later. AVOID THE CLUB> PLEASE REMEMBER TO GO ELSEWHERE and spend a few more dollars there. You will be happier.



sdrodskie says: (9 years ago)
 0
Well i must admit that similar is happening to me at the moment an i am now starting to believe that this is a tactic by Planet Fitness to keep taking monies off peoples accounts and not refunding them...They are still debiting my account even after i have cancelled in my 5 day cooling off period.. but odd amounts that doesnt fit in anywhere and if it is costing me banking fees the refuse to credit .. so their incompetency is now costing me money which i cannot exactly afford!! HELP



admin1 says: (9 years ago)
 0
I did a search to see if I could close my planet fitness account online to save a trip to the gym. The first 10 responses were about this situation exactly. Poeple still being charged dispite closing their account months or even years ago. And letters needing to be certified in order to even get a glance at from ABC Financial. Since reading all of this, I have prepared myself for any situation which would come my way for cancelling my own account and keeping it that way. Its a pretty easy process if done correctly.

I called my local planet fitness and asked about closing my account. I was told by an in-experienced girl that I can either come in and cancel it, or send a letter to "the main office" saying you wish to close your account. The girl neglected to provide and further information as to where the main office was, so I figure go down and fill the form out.

I was a black card member within the first year of creating my account so I had to pay a buy-out fee of $58 to close my account. Fair enough, I knew that when I signed up that there would be a fee to close the account. I asked for the cancel account form and they handed it to me with the attitude that I am not of any importance anymore. Which was fine, I didnt want to be anything to them anymore.

On the form there is a spot for your account number, address, why your cancelling and a spot for the employee to sign. Since you have to live more than 50 miles away from a planet fitness to be in good standing to close, I wrote I was moving to the other side of the country (Nevada). I didnt provide a new address, Just (Moving to NV). The kid who was on the counter watched my every letter as I wrote my reasoning. He tried to make a comment about how far away it was from my current location. I just said (Yeah) and kept it minimal.

Now heres where you need to be thorough. If I didnt read about the horror stories I would have never done this and just assumed everything would work out fine. I hadned the paperwork to the kid. As soon as I did, he grabbed it and said (ok thanks youre all set.) YOU NEED TO GET A COPY OF THIS FORM! There is a pink copy available for you and you NEED it as a form of proof.

If you had to pay a buy-out fee like myself, request a copy of the receipt for that as well. That will ensure that as soon as the buy-out fee was paid, your account should have been terminated. They will not provide these papers unless you request them.

Now Planet Fitness requires a credit card or bank account on file. If you had a credit card, call or go to the issuing bank and say your account may have been compromised and you would like to lock the card and be issued a new card number. They will never refuse to issue a new card number under that statement. And youre not actually lieing either. You dont want Planet Fitness to keep charging you monthly fees after you closed the account. Make sure your card/account isnt tied into another automatically paid bill or subscription. If it is, update your account information.

The next billing cycle (The 19th of each month for me), call Planet Fitness and ask the status of your account number #####. They will either tell you its closed (Hopefully) or that there is an outstanding balance of $xx.xx. If there is a balance, mention that you have copies of forms dated on _____ that show you closed your account and there should be no balance pending.

File a claim with whoever needs to be notified that there is an error with your account. ABC Financial is Planet Fitnesses Collection company. So Give them a call.

Hopefully this will help someone else be able to successfully close their PF account. What theyre doing is illegal and Im surprised nothing has come of it yet.



lylb1t says: (9 years ago)
 0
I also tried cancelling my contract with a certified letter that was signed for, I recieved a phone call telling me because I have a balance I can't cancel when I told them that's not what my contract reads they still refused and they are still biling me. I'm wondering how can they just take people's money. I am seriously thinking about taking legal action.




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Planet Fitness reviews


Similar reviews


More

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team